الجماعات المتطرفة

داعش

داعش هي إحدى الجماعات الإرهابية الأكثر دمويةً وتعصباً على مدار التاريخ، تتبني عقيدة السلفية الجهادية ولا تزال تشكل خطر حقيقي على أمن واستقرار الكثير من بلدان مناطق غرب آسيا وشمال إفريقيا وأفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى وآسيا الوسطى ودول جنوب شرقآسيا، على الرغم من خسارتها لمساحات شاسعة من الأراضي التي خضعت لسيطرتها جرّاء الحملة العسكرية الدولية التي شنُت ضدها.

الوقت المقدر لقراءة التقرير 7 دقائق
07.10.2022

لمحة عامة

داعش أو تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية هي جماعة جهادية سلفية مسلحة عابرة للحدود تطلق على نفسها اسم الدولة الإسلامية في العراق وسوريا وتعرف أيضا باسم الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام واختصاراً بـــــــ “داعش”، فرضت سيطرتها على مساحات شاسعة من العراق وسوريا في أوج قوتها عام 2015، وتُعتبر واحدة من أخطر التنظيمات الإرهابية الممولة والمدربة والمدججة بالسلاح على مدار التاريخ.

وإلى يومنا هذا، لا يزال التنظيم يشكل مصدر تهديد رئيسي للأمن القومي في العديد من البلدان بدءاً من دول غرب آسيا وشمال إفريقيا، مروراً بمناطق إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء وانتهاءً بدول آسيا الوسطى وجنوب شرق آسيا. وقد تجاوزت أطماع وطموحات داعش حدود السيطرة على أراضي الدول في العالم العربي والإسلامي، إلى تحريض مناصريه وأتباعه في الدول الغير مسلمة على شن هجمات إرهابية متطرفة. 

يمتلك التنظيم تاريخاً اسوداً وسجلاً حافلاً بشتى أنواع الجرائم الإرهابية البشعة التي خلفت مئات القتلى والجرحى، فمنذ عام 2014، ارتكب داعش سلسلة من أفظع الجرائم الإرهابية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، كان من أبرزها مجزرة معسكر سبايكر في العراق خلال شهر يونيو 2014 عندما أعدم التنظيم ما بين 1500 إلى 1700 طالب في كلية الطيران. تعتبر هذه المجزة أبشع جريمة إرهابية يرتكبها التنظيم وثاني أكثر الهجمات دمويةً في التاريخ، بعد أحداث 11 سبتمبر. هذا بالإضافة الى هجوم متحف باردو في تونس عام 2015 والذي راح ضحيته 22 شخصاً، وإسقاط طائرة الركاب الروسية بعد وقت قصير من إقلاعها من منتجع شرم الشيخ المصري باتجاه سان بطرسبرج، ما تسبب في مقتل جميع الركاب البالغ عددهم 224.

أما في أوروبا، وتحديداً في فرنسا، فقد نفذ أنصار ومؤيدو داعش سلسلة من الهجمات الإرهابية في نوفمبر عام 2015 استهدفت العاصمة باريس وأسفرت عن مقتل أكثر من 130 شخصاً على الأقل، تلتها عملية دموية  أخرى استهدفت مدينة نيس في عام 2016 أثناء احتفالات يوم الباستيل حيث نفذ أحد المتطرفين عملية دهس لحشد من المحتفلين، ما أودى بحياة حوالي 90 شخصاً على الأقل.

يرجع تنظيم “داعش” في أصوله إلى جماعة “التوحيد والجهاد” التي أسسها أبو مصعب الزرقاوي عام 1999، وقد أُعيد تسميتها فيما بعد لتصبح “تنظيم قاعدة الجهاد في بلاد الرافدين” أو “تنظيم القاعدة في العراق “في أعقاب الغزو الأمريكي للعراق (في مارس2003) بعد إعلان جماعة “التوحيد والجهاد” ولائها لتنظيم القاعدة بقيادة زعيمها السابق أسامة بن لادن عام 2004.

ولم يمضِ وقت طويل حتى تمكنت قوات التحالف من القضاء على أبو مصعب الزرقاوي في غارة جوية عام 2006، لتعلن الحكومة الأمريكية على إثرها وتحديداً في عام 2007 عن زيادة عدد قواتها بشكل كبير في العراق بهدف مكافحة كافة أشكال التمرد والعصيان ودعم القوات العراقية. تزامن ذلك مع ظهور مجالس الصحوة التي شهدت قتال القبائل السنية إلى جانب الجيش العراقي وقوات التحالف ضد تنظيم القاعدة في العراق، ما ألحق خسائر كبيرة في قدراته وإمكانياته العسكرية والمالية والتكنولوجية (الاتصالات)، بالإضافة الى مقتل وأسر أكثر غالبية كبار قادته، في حين لم يعد بمقدور من تبقى منهم التواصل بشكل مباشر مع القيادة الرئيسية للقاعدة. وإبان تلك الفترة، فقد تنظيم القاعدة في العراق – الذي بات يُعرف لاحقاً (بعد عام 2007) باسم دولة العراق الإسلامية – مصداقيته كلياً بين العراقيين لاسيما بين مؤيديه الذين لم يبدوا معارضة واضحة لتكتيكاته الوحشية في بداياته. 

وبالرغم من تَمكُّن العراق من احتواء التهديد الذي شكّله التنظيم حتى عام 2011، إلا أن انسحاب القوات الأجنبية في وقت لاحق من ذلك العام، وتعثر الإصلاحات الحكومية في المحافظات السنية فضلاً عن ضعف بنية القوات المسلحة عسكرياً، أسهم في تمهيد الطريق أمام ظهور التنظيم مرة أخرى وبث الحياة فيه من جديد.

وسعى التنظيم ضمن أولى أولوياته تحت قيادة زعيمه الجديد، أبو بكر البغدادي، الى تأمين هروب المعتقلين من السجون بهدف تضخيم صفوف مقاتليه، كما استغل المشاعر المعادية للحكومة لتشكيل تحالفات مع الموالين لحزب البعث السابق لتعزيز قدراته العسكرية. وقد كانت الأزمة السورية بمثابة فرصة ذهبية لتنظيم داعش، حيث شن البغدادي على إثرها عملية عسكرية واسعة في سوريا عام 2013، مستغلًا الحرب الأهلية التي اندلعت في أعقاب الانتفاضات التي عمت أجزاء من المنطقة. وخلال تلك الفترة، أعاد البغدادي تسمية تنظيم دولة العراق الإسلامية الى “الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام”. ومنذ ذلك الحين، أصبح يُعرَف اختصاراً بين خصومه باسم داعش، وهو مُسمى لا يخلو من التحقير ووجده التنظيم مهيناً نوعاً ما.

وقد بلغ تنظيم داعش ذروة قوته خلال عام 2015 وبلغ نفوذه أقصى اتساعه مع اقتحام قواته مدن شمال العراق وفرض سيطرته عليها بما في ذلك مدينة الموصل – ثاني أكبر مدن العراق. كما تمكن من السيطرة على سلسلة من حقول النفط، وبَسَطَ هيمنته على ما يزيد عن 110 آلاف كيلومتر من الأراضي السورية والعراقية، ونجح في تجنيد ما يقرب عن 50 ألف مقاتل أجنبي.

 واستمر الحال على ذلك حتى عام 2017 عندما بدأت قوات داعش بالتعرض لسلسلة من الهجمات المعادية من قبل بعض خصومه لاسيما قوات البيشمركة الكردية، والقوات الكردية السورية، والجماعات المسلحة العراقية، وقوات الحكومة العراقية، وقوات الحكومة السورية، بالإضافة إلى التحالف الدولي ضد داعش بقيادة الولايات المتحدة. ومن هنا بدأت مرحلة تغيير المعادلة وقلب الطاولة، حيث بدأ التنظيم منذ ذلك الحين بفقد السيطرة على الأراضي التي خضعت له في العراق وسوريا؛ لكن وحتى يومنا هذا لايزال داعش يمتلك بعض” الخلايا النائمة” في مختلف أنحاء سوريا والعراق، وبالذات في المناطق الحدودية التي لا يسودها أي قانون.

الجماعات التابعة للتنظيم 

إن استمرار سلسلة الهزائم التي مُنيَ بها داعش على الأرض لم تجرده تماماً من إمكانياته العسكرية بل لا زال يمتلك بعض القدرات التي تمكِّنُه من توجيه ضربات موجعة ضد أهداف حكومية ومدنية في سوريا والعراق، فقد أثبت التنظيم قدرته على الصمود أمام أعدائه في كلا البلدين مستغلاً حالة الوهن والانقسام الداخلي بين الأطراف المعادية وضعف مستوى التنسيق فيما بينها عند تنفيذهم العمليات العسكرية، ولعل هذا ما وفر له الأرضية المناسبة لتنفيذ هجمات كر وفر في وسط سوريا، رغم حالة الضعف الكبير الذي تعاني منه قيادته العليا نظراً لتضافر الجهود الإقليمية والدولية في محاربته و شن عمليات عسكرية  نوعية،  كان أبرزها الضربة الأمريكية في يوليو 2022 والتي أودت بحياة زعيم داعش في سوريا ماهر العقال باستخدام طائرة بدون طيار، فضلاً عن العملية العسكرية التي نفذتها قوات الحكومة السورية خلال أغسطس الماضي وأسفرت عن مقتل القائد العسكري لداعش في جنوب سوريا أبو سالم العراقي.

ومع تشتت كبار قادته في مناطق متفرقة من العراق وسوريا، بات تنظيم داعش يفتقر إلى هيكل تنظيمي فعال، وانحسر دور قادته على تقديم إرشادات وتوجيهات عامة فقط لشبكة واسعة من الخلايا النائمة والمنتشرة في المناطق الحدودية بين البلدين، وفي البلدات والقرى الصغيرة المحاذية للمدن الرئيسية التي سبق وأن أحكم السيطرة عليها بين عامي 2014 و2017.  أما فيما يتعلق بوضعه الراهن في سوريا والعراق يقوم داعش بإدارة عملياته العسكرية وفقاً لاستراتيجية ترتكز على مبدأين لا ثالث لهما. أولاً، قيام العناصر المسلحة والمنتشرة في كلا البلدين بتنفيذ أوامر القيادة المشتتة لشن هجمات معقدة وواسعة النطاق. ثانياً، مواصلة ترهيب السكان من خلال تنفيذ هجمات وحشية وتوزيع الأموال عبر شبكتها القيادية في العراق وسوريا لتمويل عملياتها. واليوم، تعتبر قوات سوريا الديمقراطية والقوات الخاصة لمكافحة الإرهاب داخل الجيش العراقي – وكلاهما مدعوم جوياً من قوات التحالف الذي تقوده الولايات المتحدة – من أهم المشاركين حالياً في عمليات القتال ضد داعش في سوريا والعراق.

وعلى النقيض من ذلك، أخذ تنظيم داعش بالظهور وبقوة خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية في مناطق أخرى من العالم. وتكاد قدراته العسكرية على شن هجمات إرهابية في سوريا والعراق وبسط نفوذه في المناطق التي سبق وأن اغتصبها لا تُذكر أمام امكانياته في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء وآسيا الوسطى – لا سيما في أفغانستان. وبحسب ما تشير إليه التقديرات الحالية، ستكون إفريقيا، على الأرجح وجهة داعش المقبلة والمكان الأكثر ملائمةً لظهوره وفرض سيطرته على البلدان والمدن والقرى التي ستشكل نقطة انطلاقة لتنفيذ هجماته الإرهابية.

وبالحديث عن أفريقيا، أعلنت حوالي ستة إلى ثمانية “أقاليم” و”جماعات متطرفة” الولاء لداعش منذ عام 2014 في كل من مصر والجزائر ونيجيريا وتشاد وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية وموزمبيق. ولا تزال هذه الجماعات فاعلة في تلك البلدان إلى هذه اللحظة، بالرغم من تردي أوضاع تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية – ولاية سيناء (أحد أفرع التنظيم الإرهابي في مصر) وتدهور امكانياته العسكرية بشكل كبير في السنوات الماضية. وتضم قائمة الجماعات الموالية لداعش كلاً من تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، ولاية غرب إفريقيا، التي انفصلت عن جماعة بوكو حرام الإرهابية وتنشط حالياً في تشاد والنيجر ونيجيريا والكاميرون. بالإضافة الى ولاية إفريقيا الوسطى، التي تنشط بشكل أساسي في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية وموزمبيق. أما في أفغانستان، فقد تزامن مع انسحاب القوات الأمريكية في أغسطس العام الماضي 2021 ظهور ولاية داعش خراسان التي تقاتل حالياً ضد حكومة طالبان، وأعلنت مسؤوليتها عن سلسلة من الهجمات التي تسببت بخسائر فادحة بعد الانسحاب الأمريكي.

 المذهب العقائدي

يتبنى تنظيم داعش عقيدة دينية مماثلة لتلك التي تتبناها القاعدة نظراً لارتباطه المتجذر بها، إلا أن الأخيرة تؤمن في مذهبها بتكفير أعدائها من غير المسلمين لاسيما السوفييت والتحالف الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة في أفغانستان والعراق وحتى الحكومات المسلمة غير السنية مثل حكومة بشار الأسد في سوريا؛ في حين تقوم عقيدة داعش على مبدأ التكفير (الكفر بالله)، أي تكفير كل من يعارض ايديولوجياته ويشمل ذلك كل من لا يعترف به في جميع أنحاء العالم بغض النظر ما إذا كانوا متدينين أم لا؛ أو من العلماء السلفيين أم من السنة، بل وصل به الأمر إلى تكفير بعض الجماعات الجهادية السنية المسلحة، مثل القاعدة. فمن وجهة نظره، يعتبر مسلماً كل من بايع الجماعة وأعلن لها الولاء، ولعل هذا ما جعل المسلمين السنة المخالفين لعقيدته أحد أكبر أهدافه وارتكب بحقهم أبشع الجرائم والمجازر. أما الكفار أو كما يطلق عليهم داعش أعداء الإسلام والمسلمين (لغايات سياسية بحتة)، فهم بالطبع كل من يعارض أفكار الجماعة ولا يعلن لها الولاء بغض النظر عن ديانتهم.  الجانب الآخر والأكثر أهمية ضمن عقيدة داعش يكمن في تطلعه لإقامة دولة إسلامية عظمى لا حدود لها يطلق عليها اسم “دولة الخلافة”، وقد أعلن التنظيم صراحة عداءه لجميع الدول، ووضع نصب عينيه إسقاط الحكومات واحتلال المراكز الحيوية المأهولة بالسكان. 

ومع توالي خسائره المتزايدة على الأرض وفقدانه السيطرة على الكثير من المناطق التي خضعت لنفوذه في أحد الأيام، لم يعد أمام التنظيم أي خيار سوى تنفيذ عمليات وهجمات إرهابية دموية تسفر عن خسائر بشرية فادحة ضد الدول التي ينشط فيها. كما أن هزائمه المتتالية في العراق وسوريا، لم تترك له مجالاً سوى اتباع استراتيجيات قتالية مبتذلة، مثل الاغتيالات والتفجيرات والكمائن وشن الغارات على أهداف عسكرية ومدنية في البلدين. ويتم حالياً تبني مثل هذه الاستراتيجيات من قبل الجماعات الموالية له في أفغانستان وأفريقيا جنوب الصحراء.

مصادر التمويل

شكلت عمليات السلب والنهب التي قام بها داعش خلال السنوات الأولى التي أعقبت تأسيسه وخصوصاً بعد عام 2013 مصدر تمويل رئيسي لعملياته لاسيما بعد فرض سيطرته على حوالي 40% من الأراضي العراقية ومساحات شاسعة من سوريا، كما شكلت عمليات الخطف من أجل الابتزاز وطلب الفدية والاتجار بالبشر وفرض الضرائب والرسوم على ما يقرب من 11 مليون شخص يقبعون تحت ظلمه مصدر دخل آخر. وبحلول نهاية عام 2014، بلغت قيمة الأموال المصادرة عن طريق أنشطته الإجرامية ومن الأراضي والموارد الطبيعية التي سيطر عليها خاصة النفط ما يقدر بحوالي ملياري دولار. وفي نفس الوقت، قُدِرت القيمة الاجمالية للنفط المنتج من حقول ومحطات التكرير التي خضعت لسيطرته في العراق وسوريا آنذاك بأكثر من مليون إلى مليوني دولار في اليوم، ما جعله أغنى تنظيم إرهابي في العالم.

ولم يمضِ وقت طويل حتى بدأ التنظيم بفقدان مصادر تمويله الرئيسية بشكل تدريجي مع تزايد تكبده خسائر متتالية من انتزاع للأراضي التي أحكم قبضته عليها وتعذر إمكانية وصوله الى عائدات النفط أو فرض ضرائب قسرية على السكان،  إلا ذلك لا يعني انعدام مصادر تمويله تماماً حيث لا تزال المنظمة قادرة على جمع التبرعات وإن كانت بوتيرة أقل من خلال وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، لاسيما بعد ظهور العملات الرقمية، والتي مكّنته من الحصول على أموال من جهات مجهولة بالعملات المشفرة، علماً بأن التنظيم وقبل هجومه الضاري على العراق وسوريا عمد على جمع التبرعات من أفراد لديهم سجل حافل في تمويل الإرهاب. 

النظرة المستقبلية

إن فكرة عودة داعش لاستعادة الأراضي التي انتُزِعَتْ منه في العراق وسوريا، مسقط رأسه، هي فكرة مستبعدة بحد ذاتها خلال الأشهر أو السنوات المقبلة. لكن من المرجح أن يستمر في تنفيذ هجمات إرهابية ضد أهداف حكومية ومدنية في العراق وسوريا، خصوصاً في البادية السورية (الصحراء) وشمال غرب العراق-تلك المناطق التي تأوي شبكة قوية من خلاياه النائمة. أضف إلى ذلك أن سيناريو توحد القوات المحلية للقضاء على فلول داعش في كلا البلدين لم يعد وارداً نظراً لتعارض أجندتها، ما لم يكن هناك هدف سياسي مشترك يجمع بينهم.  

أما خارج حدود منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، من المتوقع أن يسعى داعش إلى مواصلة تعزيز مكاسبه على الأرض لاسيما في مناطق إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء، في حين ستسمر داعش خراسان، الجماعة الأفغانية الموالية للتنظيم، جهودها لإفشال نظام الحكم الذي تقوده طالبان من خلال توجيه ضربات إرهابية قوية ضد أهدافها المتعددة كالمساجد والأقليات. من ناحية أخرى وبعيداً عن تلك الجماعات، سيواصل التنظيم العمل على تحريض الأفراد المتعاطفين والمناصرين له على تنفيذ هجمات إرهابية فردية في جميع أنحاء العالم. 

انظر أيضاً

المزيد

اتصل بنا

تواصل مع مركز صواب

تعاون. شارك ملاحظاتك. اطرح اسئلتك

النشرة الإخبارية

اشترك في النشرة الإخبارية

ابقوا على اطّلاع دائم بآخر الأبحاث والمنشورات

Extremist Organization

Daesh

Daesh is one of the deadliest and most fanatical Salafi-jihadist terrorist groups in history. Despite losing massive swathes of territory as a result of an international military campaign against it, the group is still considered to pose a serious threat to the security and stability of several countries in West Asia, North Africa, sub-Saharan Africa, Central Asia and South-East Asia. 

Read time: 7 min.
07.10.2022

Overview

The self-proclaimed Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS) – also referred to as the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL), Islamic State (IS) and by its Arabic acronym Daesh – is a transnational Salafi-jihadist armed group that controlled large swathes of Iraq and Syria at the height of its power in 2015. Daesh is considered to be one of the most dangerous, heavily armed, well-funded and well trained Salafi-jihadist organizations in history. 

It is still seen as a major threat to the national security of many countries in West Asia, North Africa, sub-Saharan Africa, Central Asia and South-East Asia. In addition to its transnational aspirations to capture, hold and control territory and populations in the Muslim world, Daesh also calls on its lone-wolf followers living in non-Muslim countries to conduct terror attacks. 

Since 2014, Daesh has been responsible for some of the worst terrorist atrocities in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region, including the Camp Speicher massacre in Iraq in June 2014 when the terrorist organization killed between 1,500-1,700 unarmed Iraqi air cadets. This attack is considered to be the second deadliest terror attack in history, after 9/11, and the deadliest attack carried out by Daesh. 

Other significant Daesh operations include the Bardo museum attack in Tunisia in 2015 that left 22 dead and the downing of a Russian passenger flight from the Egyptian resort town of Sharm El Sheikh to St Petersburg shortly after take-off that led to the deaths of all 224 people on board.  In Europe, Daesh supporters and lone-wolf sympathizers carried out the Paris attacks in November 2015 that killed over 130 people, and the Bastille Day truck ramming in Nice a year later that left about 90 dead. 

Daesh traces its roots back to the Jama’at Al Tawhid Wal Jihad (JTJ) organization founded by Abu Musaab Al Zarqawi in 1999. In 2004, JTJ pledged allegiance to Osama Bin Laden’s Al Qaeda organization following the US-led invasion of Iraq in March 2003. He rebranded JTJ as Tanzim Qa’idat Al Jihad fi Bilad Al Rafidayn (Al Qaeda in the Land Between Two Rivers), known henceforth as Al Qaeda in Iraq (AQI).

Al Zarqawi was killed in a Coalition airstrike in 2006, and in 2007 the US government significantly increased the number of troops in Iraq to combat the raging insurgencies and bolster Iraqi government forces. This increase in forces, known as the ‘Surge’ – in addition to the ‘Sahwa’ awakening that saw Sunni tribes fight alongside the Iraqi army and Coalition forces against AQI – resulted in the degradation of the organization’s military, financial and communications capabilities through to 2011. In that period, AQI – which was also known from 2007 onwards as the Islamic State of Iraq (ISI) – lost its credibility completely amongst Iraqis who had earlier supported the organization or turned a blind eye to its extremist tactics. From 2007, 90 per cent of the organization’s senior leaders were either killed or captured, and those remaining were no longer able to effectively communicate with Al Qaeda’s core leadership. 

By 2011, the threat ISI posed to Iraq seemed to have been brought under control, but a combination of the withdrawal of foreign military forces later that year, a lack of effective governance in Sunni provinces and the relative weakness of Iraqi security forces breathed new life into the organization. Its new leader, Abu Bakr Al Baghdadi, began prioritizing prison breaks to swell the group’s ranks, and exploited anti-government sentiment to form alliances with battle-hardened former Baath party loyalists to further bolster the group’s capabilities. The beginning of the Syrian crisis was a defining moment for ISI. Al Baghdadi launched an incursion into Syria in 2013, exploiting the civil war that erupted in that country in the wake of popular uprisings across the region. It was during that time that Al Baghdadi renamed his organization Al Dawla Al Islamiya fi Al Iraq Wal Sham, known in English as Islamic State in Iraq and Syria. Henceforth, the group came to be known by its enemies as Daesh, its Arabic acronym but also a derogatory term that the terror organization found offensive. 

The year 2015 was a golden one for Daesh as its forces stormed and captured northern Iraqi cities and oil fields, including Mosul – the second largest city in Iraq. At its peak, Daesh controlled 110,000 square kilometers across Syria and Iraq and attracted approximately 50,000 foreign fighters. It wasn’t until 2017 that a series of offensives by the organization’s numerous enemies, such as Iraqi Kurdish Peshmerga forces, Syrian Kurdish forces, Iraqi Shiite militias, Iraqi government forces, Syrian government forces and the US-led anti-Daesh global coalition eventually began turning the tide against Daesh in its Iraqi and Syrian heartlands from different directions and at different times. Daesh began to lose territory from 2017 onwards. However, to this day, it retains active sleeper cells across Iraq and Syria, particularly in the lawless border region between the two countries.   

Affiliates

Despite its territorial defeat in Syria and Iraq, Daesh still maintains considerable capabilities to attack government and civilian targets in both countries. The organization has proved very resilient against enemies in Syria and Iraq. It retains the ability to carry out hit-and-run attacks in central Syria, particularly since most of its enemies are also opposed to each other, and do not coordinate their campaigns against the terrorist organization. But, in both countries, Daesh’s leadership currently remains very vulnerable, with successful regional and international attacks on its leadership becoming more common, such as the July 2022 US drone strike that killed Daesh’s leader in Syria, Maher Al Agal, and the August 2022 killing by Syrian government forces of Abu Salem Al Iraqi, Daesh’s military chief in southern Syria. 

The remainder of the organization’s loose, fragmented and flat-structured leadership in Syria and Iraq is mainly providing broad guidance to a vast network of sleeper cells peppered across the borderlands between the two countries, and in small towns and villages surrounding the major cities Daesh controlled at the height of its power between 2014-2017. In its current state in Iraq and Syria, Daesh operates on two levels. First, a core of militants spread across both countries follows orders from the organization’s scattered leadership to carry out large-scale, complex attacks. Second, it still retains significant abilities to intimidate the public through brutal attacks and distribute funds across its leadership network in Iraq and Syria to finance its operations. Today, the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) and special counter-terrorism forces within the Iraqi military – both of whom are backed by aerial support from the US-led coalition – are the main actors involved in anti-Daesh operations in Syria and Iraq, respectively. 

In recent years, the presence and capabilities of Daesh have ballooned in other parts of the world. Its ability to launch terror attacks in Syria and Iraq and maintain influence in its former core geography is dwarfed by its current presence in sub-Saharan Africa and Central Asia – notably Afghanistan. Africa, in particular, is seen as the potential location of Daesh’s re-emergence, and the most likely place where the organization could occupy towns, cities and villages from which it could launch attacks. 

Since 2014, six-to-eight different ‘provinces’ and affiliates in Africa pledged ‘Bay’ah’ – allegiance – to Daesh, including in Egypt, Algeria, Nigeria, Chad, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and Mozambique. These local affiliates still operate in those countries, but Daesh-Sinai Province – the terror group’s Egyptian chapter – has been significantly degraded in recent years. Daesh’s most important African affiliate is Daesh-West Africa Province (ISWAP), which split from Boko Haram and is currently active in Chad, Niger, Nigeria and Cameroon. Another Daesh affiliate in Africa is Daesh-Central Africa Province (ISCAP), which operates primarily in the DRC and Mozambique. In Afghanistan, Daesh-Khorasan Province (Daesh-KP) rose to prominence following the US withdrawal in August 2021. Daesh-KP is currently fighting against the Taliban, and has been responsible for a number of large-scale attacks in Afghanistan since the American withdrawal.

Doctrine

Daesh is a transnational Salafi-jihadist terror organization, with a similar religious doctrine to that of Al Qaeda, to which it traces its roots. One of the fundamental pillars of Daesh’s doctrine is the concept of takfirism – the Arabic term for disbelief in God. While Al Qaeda regularly branded its non-Muslim enemies as ‘infidels’ – from the Soviets, through to the US-led coalition in Afghanistan and Iraq and even non-Sunni Muslim governments such as that of Bashar Al Assad in Syria – Daesh used its takfirist ideology against anyone who opposed the organization. This included all Sunnis who do not recognize it, regardless of whether those Sunnis are religious or non-religious; whether they are Salafi or other Sunni scholars across the world, and even other armed Sunni jihadist groups, such as Al Qaeda. Only Sunni Muslims who accept the group and pledge allegiance to it are considered to be believing Muslims by Daesh. All other Sunni Muslims have, in the past, been branded and targeted as non-believers, making them the biggest victims of Daesh’s crimes since the terror organization was established. Daesh has thus branded all those who do not pledge allegiance to it – a political act in essence – as enemies of Islam, and thus kuffar or ‘infidels’.  

The second, and most important aspect of Daesh’s doctrine, is the establishment of a Caliphate – a Muslim superstate with no defined borders. Since the terror organization has openly stated its hostility towards all countries, toppling governments and occupying population centers remains its core aim, regardless of where it operates, whether it is the Arab World, sub-Saharan Africa or Central/South Asia. When Daesh has lost control of territory, it has shifted its strategy to insurgency and mass-casualty terror attacks against the state in which it operates. Following the loss of its territory in Iraq and Syria, the group re-implemented conventional terrorist strategies, such as targeted assassinations, bombings, ambushes and raids against civilian and military targets across the two countries. This strategy is also being followed currently by its affiliates in Afghanistan and sub-Saharan Africa.

Financing

In the years following its establishment in 2013, particularly after it took control of about 40 per cent of Iraqi territory and large swathes of Syria, Daesh was able to make money through looting, kidnapping for ransom, human trafficking and the levying of taxes and fees on the approximately 11 million people living under its rule. ​​In addition, funds confiscated from occupied territories, natural resources, particularly oil, and criminal activities generated an estimated $2 billion for Daesh by the end of 2014. At that time, the estimated value of the output from the oil fields and refineries under Daesh’s control in Iraq and Syria was $1 million to $2 million a day, making it the world’s wealthiest terrorist group. 

With the loss of territory, access to oil revenues and the ability to forcibly tax local populations in areas it once occupied, Daesh gradually began losing its main sources of income for sustaining its proto-state. Prior to its onslaught across Iraq and Syria, it was able to obtain donations from certain individuals who were sympathetic to its cause and who had a history of financing terrorism. Although less so than before, the organization still maintains the ability to solicit donations through social media, and with the advent of digital currencies, through anonymous donations of cryptocurrencies.

Outlook

In the months and years to come, it is very unlikely Daesh will recover the territory it lost in Iraq and Syria – the two countries were the terror organization first established itself. What is most likely to occur in Iraq and Syria is a continuation of opportunistic terror attacks by Daesh against government and civilian targets in the Syrian Badia (desert) and north-western Iraq – the areas where it currently maintains a strong network of sleeper cells. Local forces working at cross purposes are unlikely to unite to completely defeat the remnants of Daesh in both countries, unless they find it to be in their political interest. 

Outside this region, Daesh will most likely seek to consolidate its gains in parts of sub-Saharan Africa where it is strongest, and in future, its Afghan affiliate, Daesh Khorasan, will continue with its attempts to disrupt Taliban rule through major terror strikes against targets such as mosques and against minority communities. Beyond its various affiliates, known as ‘Wilayat’ in Arabic (meaning states or provinces), the terror organization will also continue to inspire and claim responsibility for lone-wolf attacks across the world.

SEE ALSO

MORE FROM SAWAB

Contact

CONNECT WITH SAWAB

Collaborate. Give Feedback. Ask Questions.

Newsletter

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get updates on our latest research